>For your reading pleasure: Bérubé on academic freedom

>Probably everyone who reads my blog already reads Michael Bérubé, but just in case you haven’t been there yet today, he has assigned this weekend’s “homework” reading: a fantastic, 5000-word post on academic freedom. Since I seem to be unable to manage my time well enough to do a substantive post on anything myself, I’m sending you there.

Btw, you might notice that the first link he has (wherein he claims he does not read “at a ‘lightening pace,’ as some people claim”) I am the “some people.” But that’s not why I’m sending you there. I mean, if I wanted you to end up back here, why would I send you away? Besides, as Boyfriend points out, he’s just mocking me. [Edited to add: perhaps “ribbing” is a better word here than “mocking.”] Or rather, since the link he gives (which I’ve now repeated here) is all about him — in fact, the post title in question is “Go to Bérubé’s blog right now” — he’s not leading anyone to anything I have to say, really, but just to more of him. And since my link to him leads you to a link back to me which leads you to a link all about him maybe it was all about Bérubé anyway.

Let’s face it: we are all Bérubé’s puppets. Now what are you still doing here — you have a reading assignment! Bérubé speaks; you listen!

4 thoughts on “>For your reading pleasure: Bérubé on academic freedom

  1. >I so don’t read at a lightning pace that I don’t read Berube. His posts are too long. I read one once and that’s why I no longer have time to find those special characters you need to spell foreign names. Hear that, Berube! That’s minus one reader for you! Let’s have some pith, man!

  2. >Hee! You know, the post in question has a link to an audio file of the talk it’s based on, so you *could* listen to it if you were so inclined, but that would take even longer, I guess. Still, you could dust or fold laundry or something at the same time.

  3. >Hear that, Berube! That’s minus one reader for you! Let’s have some pith, man!I can do pith. In fact, I can get really pithy sometimes.And I was so not mocking the good Dr. V., even though she speaks really quickly. I will confess, though, that I thought it was mildly funny to link to a post whose title directed readers to go to my blog right now.–Michael

  4. >I will confess, though, that I thought it was mildly funny to link to a post whose title directed readers to go to my blog right now.Which is why the visitors who did come by all have visit lengths of 0:00. Apparently Dr. Virago speaks and they listen to Michael. Sigh. 🙂

Add to the Discussion

