My heart is with Boston

“If you are losing faith in human nature, go out and watch a marathon.” – Kathrine Switzer

I ran the Boston Marathon in 2007 (as you can read here and here and here, too.) My brother has run it many times now, including yesterday. He finished an hour before the explosions and was safe at his hotel when they went off, thank goodness, but my heart goes out to all the people injured and the families of the now three dead. And it goes out to everyone who has ever or will ever run or watch the Boston Marathon, because it has been irrevocably changed.

I don’t have the time or the words right now to say what I want to say about what this means for the sport or for Boston, and it’s too early to say what it means in general, or what it was all about. But I liked this piece in The Nation (from which my epigraph above comes), so I’ll leave it at that.

Updated to add: Ooh, and now here’s a New Yorker essay that offers Piers Plowman as a requium / solace for Boston. Lovely!

One thought on “My heart is with Boston

Add to the Discussion

