Woah, I got “Reddited”!

Wait, is “Reddited” a word yet? Well, it is now. What I mean is, I got linked at Reddit. OK, so it was only in linguistics subreddit, but sure enough, it seems the whole point of linking me was to tell me I was wrong. Well, at least it wasn’t one of those parts of Reddit where a person gets called worse things.

Anyway, the joke’s on them, because most of the commenters misread my post entirely. (It was my post about Anglo-Saxons ‘getting’ teaching by using a double accusative for both the subject taught and the person taught.) They thought it was actually a post about linguistics. Sigh. Only one person commenting realized it was really just a pretense — a hook — to talk about teaching. This smart Redditor, shadyturnip, even did me a solid by elevating my musings to a metaphor. Thanks, dude!

Anyway, even though only 6 people commented, thanks to them and the original person who shared it, I got my *highest* number of daily hits (478!) since moving the blog to WordPress. And that was over what was pretty much a throw-away, thinking-off-the-top-of-my-head post.

The internet is a weird place.

3 thoughts on “Woah, I got “Reddited”!

  1. I think that 90% of the purpose is to tell you (that’s the generic “you”): “You’re doing it wrong, and you are stupid and probably dress funny.” So if one out of six got your post, I’d say you’re doing pretty good!

  2. Notorious – Being understood by 1 out of 6 is also pretty much my teaching stats, LOL! (OK, I think they’re actually better than that.)

    J. Otto – In this case, WordPress tells me that 323 hits that day came through the link from Reddit. But whether Redditors are actual human beings or not is another question.

Add to the Discussion

